January Challenge: Josie’s

My experiences eating at Josie’s has always been great, but dining here this month brought about a new way of thinking about the restaurant: it was local. From Josie’s cow painting on the wall to the casual atmosphere of the restaurant, I felt like I could have been in a relative’s or friend’s kitchen rather than an eatery!

Glancing over the menu, it is hard to make a concise decision on what to order. My mind (and taste buds) kept going back and forth between the Chucktown Burger, Chevy Chase Special, or the alluding special of the day- a bacon filled quiche. I ended up having no decision regrets about the Chevy Chase Special, which includes eggs, choice of meat, potatoes or grits, and biscuits and gravy!

Hoping to make my meal all the better, I proceeded to ask our waitress about their food products and where they came from (I felt very much like Kelsey Timmerman on his quest to find out where his clothes were made!). She told me that most of their products are locally produced and grown. This made my taste buds and GLOCAL mentality all the more pleased!

Check out my Chevy Chase Special pictured below. Don’t YOU want to go GLOCAL?!

IMG_4854

UK Student Tip: You can use your Dining Plus Account at Josie’s.

Keep checking back for more updates and challenges on how you can go GLOCAL!

Leave a comment